By George

February 10, 2008

Author: Wesley Stace
Copyright: 2007
Publisher: Little, Brown and Company

Started: 2/10/08
Completed: 2/19/08

I didn’t know much about this novel going in. It appealed to me on the shelf as different. According to the jacket, it is the story of a ventriloquist’s dummy, as told by that dummy. That seemed worth a look.

It turned out to be a wonderful novel about several generations of a British show-business family. The dummy, George, carries part of the story. The rest is the story of a young man, also named George, who is the grandson of the dummy’s ventriloquist.

The author, Wesley Stace, is also a singer/songwriter who performs as John Wesley Harding. This is his second novel. I enjoyed it so much that I have grabbed the first novel from the library and added it to my reading pile.

One Response to “By George”

  1. […] is another by Wesley Stace, whose By George I enjoyed so much recently. That book, his second, was good enough that I wanted to try this one, […]

Leave a comment